It is recorded that Pearl Beach (believed to have been officially named in 1921) was first visited on the 2nd March, 1792 when Governor Arthur Phillip made an expedition by water to inspect land in the large bay (so named Broken Bay after the broken appearance of the surrounding land) mentioned in the chronicles of Captain James Cook. Landfall was not made by Capt. Phillip's expedition as although the natives appeared friendly, their numbers discouraged him and that night slept in their long boat. It is popularly believed that in 1928, a Mr Clive Staples , developed and subdivided the area and offered the land for sale as the "Pearl Beach Estate". Almost all of the village streets are named after a gem stone.
Below are some of the photos taken during the day.